Discontinued scripts, what are the guidelines?
Greetings all, if there are scripts that were disabled, and the creaors banned, are we allowed to fix those up, or have them fixed without that being deemed as leaking?
im unsure how it classifies on the site as ive seen some remade, but thats not really utilizing the core mode itself, so id like to know proper procedure and/or guidelines on the topic
You may modify code from a script you've purchased if you're using it on a server you own. However, you may not take another developer's script, modify it and then re-sell it on gms. The script must be completely YOUR code.
Awesome, I have no intentions of selling at the moment, but some things I'd still like fixed up and such, so my question becomes Am I allowed to send files I have for jobs to fix them as they won't and can't receive updates As if they were active it would be leaking, unsure as for inactive for bans and shit
By♕ Dilly ✄at 19th of October 2017 11:40:39
Awesome, I have no intentions of selling at the moment, but some things I'd still like fixed up and such, so my question becomesAm I allowed to send files I have for jobs to fix them as they won't and can't receive updatesAs if they were active it would be leaking, unsure as for inactive for bans and shit
Even if it's an orphaned work, legally it's still copyrighted. So legally you cannot redistribute it in any way.
ByARitz Crackerat 21st of October 2017 14:42:42
Even if it's an orphaned work, legally it's still copyrighted. So legally you cannot redistribute it in any way.
I 100% agree. But I'm interested to know if gmodstore themselves would take action against leaking of "discontinued" scripts.
Gmodstore will not issue any such "take-down" notice to a site hosting a leaked copy of a discontinued script. However, if a user comes to gmodstore and tries to submit a script as their own work, which we find out is a discontinued script, we still ban that user. If a user is caught, leaking a script that is discontinued and another user reports it to us, then yes, that user will also be banned.